Picking the mind of a smiggle creative

Smiggle has many creative master minds that design all the goodies you see in store. So this week we thought you might like to meet just one of our  fabulous designers Julia. If you’ve seen or own one of our activity books or the 2012 graphic diary, you’ll have already enjoyed some of Julia’s handiwork. She’s the artist behind them, hand illustrating EVERY PAGE! So want to know what makes her tick?

1. What do you most love about your Job?

So much! I love that I get to dream, design and develop new things every day. I love that I can then see my ideas come to life. I love that I get to work in an environment surrounded by colour. I love that I  work with such a creative, inspiring, talented bunch of people. And I love stationery (I’ve always been a big fan)… so Smiggle naturally has my heart.

2. How long did it take for you to illustrate the 2012 graphic diary?

The 2012 graphic diary was one of my longer illustrative projects. Diaries generally take a good couple of months for the team to design, but as this diary was entirely illustrated by hand including all of the type, it took quite a few weeks of drawing & then another week or so to turn the drawings into digital art ready for print. 3. What was your inspiration for the 2012 Diary?

Browsing through my 2010 & 2011 diary entries gave me plenty of inspiration for what to include in the sticker pages (haircut, pay day, holidays etc). I used a collection of Smiggle pens, markers and pencils to illustrate and was having such a good time experimenting that the writing materials almost formed inspiration themselves. I wanted the style and composition to be quite organic to encourage the user to write, sketch and add more colour to the pages, with the intention to make little distinction between the printed material and the user’s entries.

4. What’s your fave page?

I love the sticker pages and have already started filling my 2012 diary with a few fun sticker reminders, such as the ‘balloons sticker’ to mark my son’s 2nd birthday, the ‘suitcase,’ ‘aeroplane’ and ‘ ‘wave’ sticker to mark my next holiday to Bali, and a ‘bill due’ sticker to remind me of when my dreaded car registration is due.

5. What’s your fave Smiggle colour and why?

I am currently a member of the green colour crew so my workspace is all decked out in green, but am thinking about having a seasonal change and jumping ship to blue for summer, as I’m loving the new whales graphic story and figure it’s summer… blue skies, blue seas so why not!

We LOVE Julia’s work and hope you do too! Make sure you take a look at her latest designs in our activity books and 2012 graphic diary, in store and online NOW!

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 18, 2011 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    I love everything about its amazing and I love it so much I’ll be rushing to the next Smiggle shop here Peace Out

  2. Molly
    Posted March 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm | Permalink

    Aww! So cute! I totally want one. Do you know if I can get one from Bendigo, Victoria?? Because they’ve sold out. 😦


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

