Introducing the new ART OF SMIGGLE range by NINA BENNETT

Our talented winner - Nina Bennett

A little while back, Smiggle challenged the talented class of graphic design students at RMIT University in Melbourne to create a brand spanking new Art of Smiggle range.

We were so blown away and inspired by their amazing talents, but could only choose one winner, with a bit of help from our trusty Smigglers of course! So we introduce to you Nina Bennett and her gorgeous Art of Smiggle range and had a chat with Nina on her inspiration and dreams.

Hi Nina, How did you learn about the Art of Smiggle Design Program?
I’m currently in my final year of a Diploma in Graphic Design
at RMIT University & my lecturer introduced this project to our class.
The thought of having my designs in front of the team at Smiggle, and
to see them come to life on a product range was too good
an opportunity to miss!

Where did your inspiration for the Art of Smiggle range come from?
I do a lot of portraits of faces in my own personal work;
I just really love the human face. It’s captivating.
I wanted whoever would see the illustration to be intrigued with herexpression, and I wanted to let that speak for itself.

And how did you come to choose this final design?
In the end, I decided to go for something I’d love to see on the cover of a notebook, and something I would be interested in buying.
Hopefully, it will appeal to others and be popular…here’s hoping! 😀

So with your course nearly complete, what would be your dream job be?
Wow I have many. I would love to work in a design studio as an illustrator or graphic designer.
I would also love to own my own studio one day that focuses on design as an art form and challenges people to move away from the norm.
But I’m really just an artist, sketcher and painter, so I would also love to own my own gallery or be a curator for one. So who knows 😀

What did you think of the RMIT Art of Smiggle program?
It was pretty darn swell. The art director and design team were really friendly from the start, and gave us as much freedom when it came to
the actual design as they could, letting us do what we wanted. I liked how they asked young designers to create a range of products
for young people; it showed a willingness to learn from us as much as we were learning from them.

Check out some of her fab design inspiration below and don’t forget to take a look at Nina Bennett’s designs on the latest Art of Smiggle product range, in stores and online NOW!

  

              

10 Comments

  1. Mikhala ;]
    Posted October 9, 2010 at 9:05 pm | Permalink

    Wow, the designs are completely and utterly awesome!! It’s really unique… Might buy something ;]

  2. truegabe
    Posted October 13, 2010 at 11:04 am | Permalink

    Hi Everyone at Smiggle!

    TrueGabe here – I love you guys!

    Here’s a photoblog of my haul from your Albany store this week 😀

    http://truegabe.posterous.com/what-she-carried

    ❤ TrueGabe

  3. lili
    Posted October 29, 2010 at 11:54 am | Permalink

    your design is really cool

  4. Otakagu Chukwunonso Victor
    Posted November 6, 2010 at 4:57 pm | Permalink

    i love smiggle

  5. lili
    Posted November 9, 2010 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    so do i

  6. lili
    Posted November 9, 2010 at 11:54 am | Permalink

    goooooooooooooooo purple and greeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen
    i luv smiggle 2

  7. lili
    Posted November 9, 2010 at 11:56 am | Permalink

    wouldn’t it be awesome if you could chat to people in your colour crew on your colour crew site
    that would be sooooo awesome
    what does it mean to jump a crew?
    oh well i’m in school right now and doing an awesome project
    people should really post more often

  8. Tiarna
    Posted March 7, 2011 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    I love smiggle everybody in my class loves it we get smiggle prizes in school from our teacher we are so lucky but our teacher gets angrey at us becuse when people in the class see smiggle they just say smiggle and wont stop

  9. Posted July 23, 2012 at 8:46 am | Permalink

    my name is nina too and i love smggle

  10. Posted July 23, 2012 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    i love yor art and my name is nina bennett too and i love SMIGGLE!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

